Temporary Container Garden

After an atrocious morning of rain, snow and strong winds, I genuinely didn’t think I was going to be able to get into the garden today to get anything done.  However, thankfully by 10 am the sun was out, the breeze had dropped so everything began the somewhat slow process of drying out.

I had mentioned earlier in the week that I wanted to turn the patio area into my ‘temporary garden’ for this year as there was no way I was going to be able to complete all of the re-design I wanted to do before the Autumn so that is what I have been doing today.

I have salvaged the majority of my ‘big pots’ from the top of the garden and have been methodically going through them, tidying them up.  Some of them were in a right state, infested with weed and some even had bloody MUSCARI bulbs growing in them!

First pot to be inspected contained a PHLOX ‘Classic Cassis’.  This has a beautiful pink flower which looks great and blooms for quite a long time.

PHLOX Classic Cassis 160416

As you can see, this was infested with grass, muscari and other little weeds that had decided to call this pot their home.  After tipping the pot out and tidying it up, I was left with a healthy tidy plant and a nice pile of weeds!

 

Next was PHLOX ‘Peppermint Twist’.  I am currently selling some of these on eBay and is a plant I really like.  The flowers remind me of ‘old school’ sweets!

PHLOX Peppermint Twist 160416

This plant didn’t look too bad and to be fair, there wasn’t much in the way of weeds once I had finished tidying it up.

 

The next pot contained what I thought was 3 LIATRIS ‘Spicata’.  I love these plants for adding height to the back of the border and their upward spires add great architectural presence to the garden.

LIATRIS Spicata 160416

Once I turned the pot out, it became apparent that there were no longer 3 bulbs in here any more and 2 had in fact moulded away to nothing over the winter 😦

The soil literally just collapsed into the sorting tray and after a good dig around I was able to salvage one lonely, but very healthy looking bulb with plenty of growth!

Putting a single bulb into a 10 litre pot seemed ludicrous, so for the time being, I have popped it into a 9 cm pot whilst I decide what to do with it.

LIATRIS Spicata 1604164

 

HEMEROCALLIS ‘Entrapment’ was next.

HEMEROCALLIS Entrapment 160416

Not too much in the way of weed growth in this one so, for once, a pretty simple tidy up!

 

Next was what I can only assume was a very weed infested HEMEROCALLIS ‘Fooled Me’.  I say ‘assume’ as the label had disappeared somewhere, but I know I had one potted up and all the others are labelled.

HEMEROCALLIS Fooled Me 160416

Some serious weed growth in this one (!!), but to be fair, they all came out pretty easily.  I was however, left with quite a pile in the sorting tray afterwards!

 

Now. this next pot was far more interesting and I need your help to identify something I found within it!!  The main plant was my last variety of Day Lily HEMEROCALLIS ‘Daring Deception’.

HEMEROCALLIS Daring Deception 160416

Looking remarkably weed infested I tipped the pot out to find 2 ‘mystery plants’.

Mystery Plant 160416

Before I tipped the pot out I thought that this pot had grown a ‘super weed’, looking at one of the plants above (the one on the right) the roots are still formed into the shape which would exactly fit a 6 pack bedding tray.  Now I NEVER buy annuals so this is obviously something I have grown last year, stuck in this pot and it has somehow survived the winter.  I have racked my brains as to what it could be, but I just don’t recognise the structure of the plant or the leaves.  Any ideas??  Here’s what they look like potted up if it helps???!!

Mystery Plant 1604162

 

Next I found another (!!) PHLOX ‘Peppermint Twist’.  Now, I know I am fond of this plant, but can’t for the life of me think why I kept 2!

PHLOX Peppermint Twist2 160416

There was a decent amount of weed in this one, but again, it was pretty easy to sort.

 

Next is a plant that I ‘salvaged’ from the garden when I started digging it up.  Now, I could’ve sworn this was a GERANIUM, but looking at the plant now and its’ leaves, I’m not convinced.  Any ideas?

GERANIUM 160416

This pot appears to have turned into a MUSCARI Hotel and was full of the bleeding things!  A rather impressive pile of weeds left over, but the plant had a lovely healthy root system and lots of new growth 🙂

I also gave a quick tidy up to the PEONY I re-potted in January, whose growth has shot up in the last couple of weeks 🙂

PEONY 160416

I cannot wait for this to flower as it is truly bootiful!

And that was as far as I got today with the re-potting.  I still have a few more to do which I am hoping to crack on with tomorrow, but at least for now, my new “Temporary Container Garden” has something in it for me to play with 🙂

Patio Garden 160416

2 thoughts on “Temporary Container Garden

Leave a Reply

