Warming Up :)

What started as a rather dismal and drizzly day, quickly brightened up into what felt like the first proper day of Spring.

I have spent most of the day in the tunnel trying to create more space as it suddenly occurred to me that I was already running out of room and I still had a load more seeds to sow this month.

By about 12:00, it was that warm in there, I was down to a thin cotton top – lovely 🙂

Poly Temp 030316

It reached about 25C by 2 pm and I was positively glowing!

Germination news – the PANSY ‘Giant Fancy Mix’ which were sown on 11th February have started peeking through the surface of the compost!

Pansy 030316

Only a couple, but I still get a thrill from seeing early signs of life.

Wendy’s AQUILEGIA ‘Black Barlow’ are looking super and I can’t imagine it’ll be more than a couple of weeks before I will be handing them over to her.

Aquilegia Black Barlow 030316

They’ve really come on in the last week or so.

And finally, after the big re-shuffle, the right hand side of the tunnel now looks like this:

Polytunnel 030316

I still have some more work to do on the left hand side and I am sure I can get another couple of staging units in so all in all, it’s been a productive day 🙂

6 thoughts on “Warming Up :)

  1. Those Aquilegia are looking brilliant. How long since you planted the seeds? I am very excited as I have been promised space in a greenhouse this year, so I am going to have my first real attempt at growing seeds.

  2. Your polytunnel looks great! I’m about to buy my first one =D I just can’t wait to get all my seedling started once the weather warms up a little.

Leave a Reply

