Early Morning Sowing

Do you ever feel like the world is against you???  After the stomach bug two weeks ago, being bunged up with a yucky cold all last week, I woke up on Sunday morning with a water infection 😦  Now on antibiotics and feeling more than a little sorry for myself, I thought I would have an easy day gently getting myself back into the swing of things.

I started by sowing some SWEET PEA ‘Su Pollard’ which I had hoped to have gotten in before the end of January, but as I am not approximately 10 days behind where I should be, I’m playing a bit of catch up.

These were the second pack of seeds H bought me as a surprise 🙂  Packet said 20 seeds, but I had 36!!

Then I realised that I had run out of all the pre-filled seed and cell trays from my previous ‘sieving day’ so I spent the next hour or so, sieving some more!

Cell Trays 020216

So now I had more trays to fill with seeds to go in the Polytunnel 🙂

Armed with full trays, I chose to sow some AGASTACHE ‘Apricot Sprite’.  The packet said it contained 22 seeds, but I only counted 17.

These are a lovely HP and I hope they do well.

Next, some beautiful ASTER ‘Starlight Scarlet’ which I am really looking forward to growing.

I hope they turn out as deep in colour as on the seed packet as I think they will really add some ‘wow factor’.  The packet said 50 seeds, but I was lucky this time and got 60.

Then, it was onto a plant which I have never seen sold anywhere before, ECHINOPS ‘ruthenicus’.

I hope these turn out okay as they are a lovely shade of blue and I imagine they will look stunning swaying in a late summer breeze.  The packet said 12, I got 15 🙂

And to finish, some OSTEOSPERMUM ‘Akila Mix’.  These seeds I collected off plants I grew last year and I just love the pastel shades of these flowers.  I was surprised to find I had 40 seeds!

 

And then, just as I was enjoying my nice, relaxing morning, I noticed something in the porch……………………..

One thought on “Early Morning Sowing

  1. Agastache “Apricot sprite” is amazing. Its one of my seed disasters. I just can’t get the bloody thing to grow!
    I really love the scent from it.

    *cough* if you found a way to ship them I may take some off you! (When they have sprouted!) B-)

Leave a Reply

