January Jobs & Plans

So, thinking positively and trying to bring some order to my 2016 plans for my garden, I though it would be a good idea to get ‘ahead of the game’ so to speak and start writing a list of jobs that I need / want to do in the garden in January.

Around the Garden

For me at least, there won’t be much actually growing in the garden this January, but there are still several ‘housekeeping’ jobs I want to make sure I do;

Luckily, there are fewer pests and diseases round this time of year and by ensuring that I tidy up as many of the leaves which have blown off neighbours trees as I can, and tidy up any general rubbish that might be lying around, this will hopefully help reduce the number of nooks and crannies they can find to hide and breed in come Spring.  I also need to decide on where to put my compost bin as the leaves would be perfect to go in that.  I also need to source a water butt and find an ideal position for that.

Compost Dec

Not in the best position currently!!

The tools I have been using since moving in here, I think have had it.  I would like to say it was mainly down to them being used so much and wear and tear, but if I am honest, it’s most likely down to neglect.  I am a real swine for leaving, especially my hand tools, out in the rain and this is definitely a habit I need to get out of.  With the rest of my tools I am hoping that a good clean is all they will need and they will do me for another year.

Garden Tools Dec

Definitely past their best 😦

Weeding is another top priority.  I appear to have become very adept at growing Chickweed – GRRR! It’s spreading everywhere and there are also a few Dandelions which I missed the roots of when turning over the first half of the garden.  If I can get on top of these now, it’ll mean I can spend more time doing the things I like to do in the garden once the weather improves.

The lawn!! I noticed last Summer that there was quite a lot of moss in the lawn 😦  As well as trying to de-moss the lawn, I also need to improve it’s drainage.  Luckily the area isn’t too big and shouldn’t take me more than an hour or so with a fork to aerate it.

IMG_0046

Planting and Sowing

Now fingers crossed, my polytunnel will be up and running by mid January at the latest so then I can really start cracking on with my planting plans.

I only have a handful of flower varieties to grow from seed in January and I’m hoping to spend most of the time re-potting and tidying up the plant stock from the top of the garden.

Garden Design

I am hoping to have a clear idea of exactly what I want come January.  I am also hoping to have the first part of the brick wall down and approximately 2 foot of soil removed from behind it by the end of the month.  I have come to realise that this is going to involve a skip, a wheelbarrow and a lot of hard graft however, I am definitely up for the challenge!

One thought on “January Jobs & Plans

  1. About the waterbutt… Rather than paying for one have a word with your local council and see if you can get a new one for free by saying that your old one went missing *ahem* “I think them pesky kids may have nicked it to go joyriding in”… Or something like that… B-)

    Then watch this.

    Dead easy to do.

    And, yeah… Those tools could do with a clean and an oiling! B-)

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

